Translate Forex Broker CashBack
Any questions
about our service?


Click for live chat

You are here: Forex Broker CashBack » Forex Broker News » Changes to Forex and Metals Se...

Forex Broker News

You can find and read the latest news and press releases from all of our partner brokers here.

Starting from Monday 17th March 2014, IC Markets will be implementing new trading times for their Forex and Metals products around the rollover period and start of the week on their MT4 platform.

Start of the week

IC Markets will now begin streaming prices at Market open on Monday morning from 00:03:00 platform time.

What is the rollover period?

Rollover, otherwise known as 'end of day' (EOD) and 'value date change' occurs daily at 00:00 platform time, 17:00 EST, 22:00 GMT and 00:00 platform time, 17:00 EDT, 22:00 BST during daylight savings in the northern hemisphere.

During the rollover period two things happen.

Positions are 'rolled' to the next value date. It is during this process that swaps are applied to positions
Liquidity providers (banks mainly) restart their FIX engines and can be offline for seconds to minutes.
Due to their being less liquidity providers streaming prices it is normal to see wider spreads and even erratic price action over this period.

New trading times

At present IC Markets disable pricing and trading across their Forex and Metals products for 45 seconds. This short break takes place between 23:59:45 and 00:00:30 platform time, right at rollover.

Starting from Monday 17th March 2014, they will be disabling pricing and trading across their Forex and Metals products for four minutes over the rollover period. Please refer to the new trading times below.

Trading ends: 23:58:59 platform time
16:58:59 EDT
20:58:59 GMT
Trading starts: 00:03:00 platform time
17:03:00 EDT
21:03:00 GMT



Additional changes to Metals trading times

Metals: XAUUSD, XAGUSD, XAUEUR, XAGEUR

Starting from Monday 17th March 2014, IC Markets will also be disabling pricing and trading across their Metals products for 45 minutes after rollover. This 45 minute break will take place from 00:15 to 01:00 platform time.

Through these changes IC Markets aim to eliminate the wide spreads and erroneous prices that are most prevalent over the rollover period, specifically the minute before and up to three minutes after, when many liquidity providers are offline.